Skip to content

Smile.

17/01/2012


I know. This is going to sound like a silly reason for a blog. But I saw a baby smile today. They looked at me and smiled. And I smiled back and they smiled more.

For a millisecond of a millisecond, the child and I were at one. I could have understood them and they me. It’s a glorious feeling.

I do not know this child from Adam. Nor the child’s parents. It was fate that lead us to the same shopping mall and be in the same store waiting our turn in the queues we so hate to find ourselves in. But there I was connected to this new life and I did not hate being in that line.

As is obligatory at these meets, eyes move from child to parents. More smiles. More connections, although not as strong. But connections. It was odd. I had felt more connected with the babe then the child’s parents whom I could communicate with.

The child was a boy it turned out. Named Charlie. Their first. And he was three months old. Data that I gleamed through verbal communication. But none of it as meaningful as that strange connection we have with other beings when they acknowledge our existence and we acknowledge theirs.

It got me thinking about other moments of similar connection. The first time you see you partner. Or in some cases the first time you see your partner as your partner as sometimes love takes time. The moment you say farewell to someone unwell. The moment you first saw an animal that would become more then just a pet. And the moment when you look into the eyes of new life.

Something happens. Something…wonderful. Something uniquely human.

And it all begins with a smile.

A. Ghebranious   2012  (All Rights Reserved)

6 Comments
  1. Pip permalink

    Nice post Ash.,
    The thing about baby’s smiles is that they are unconditional, completely without guile; they simply smile because they’re happy to see you, and that’s a very sweet connection. 🙂

    • Indeed! But even stranger is the more we learn to communicate, the more we use guile. What a strange being we are.

      • Mind you, I can see where vows of silence – removing a form of communication – can makes one life seem more guile free.

  2. Catching up permalink

    Some times one gets the same response from a smile from a old

    It can make ones day. especially when the smile is a response to something stupid one has done.

  3. Lovely post Ash.

  4. THANK YOU Ash for your window into Humanity …

Leave a Reply

