Skip to content

Sophie’s Choice


Sophie chucked a tantrum and got herself named. The vote was 71 – 57 against her.

Here is a list of those that voted. I include two divisions: one from earlier that day with more coalition names so you can work out the ones that did not attend.

Firstly, the Steel Transformation bill.

Question—That the Steel Transformation Plan Bill 2011 be now read a second time—put, 5:28:18 PM.
The House divided (the Speaker, Mr Jenkins, in the Chair)—
AYES, 75

Mr Adams           Mr Dreyfus            Dr M. J. Kelly            Mr Ripoll
Mr Albanese      Mrs Elliot               Ms King                        Ms Rishworth
Mr Bandt              Ms Ellis                   Dr Leigh                      Ms Rowland
Ms Bird                 Dr Emerson           Ms Livermore          Ms Roxon
Mr Bowen     Mr L. D. T. Ferguson Mr Lyons                   Mr Rudd
Mr Bradbury   Mr M. J. Ferguson Mr McClelland         Ms Saffin
Ms Brodtmann Mr Fitzgibbon       Ms Macklin                Mr Shorten
Ms A. E. Burke  Mr Garrett             Mr Marles                   Mr Sidebottom
Mr A. S. Burke   Mr Georganas       Mr Melham               Mr S. F. Smith
Mr Butler            Mr Gibbons             Mr Mitchell              Ms Smyth
Mr Byrne             Ms Gillard               Mr Murphy               Mr Snowdon
Mr Champion    Mr Gray                   Mr Neumann             Mr Swan
Mr Cheeseman  Ms Grierson            Mr Oakeshott           Mr Symon
Mr Clare              Mr Griffin                  Mr O’Connor     Mr K. J. Thomson
Ms Collins          Ms Hall*                    Ms O’Neill               Ms Vamvakinou
Mr Combet        Mr Hayes                  Ms Owens               Mr Wilkie
Mr Crean             Mr Husic*                Ms Parke                  Mr Windsor
Mr Danby           Mr S. P. Jones         Mr Perrett               Mr Zappia
Mrs D’Ath           Mr Katter                 Ms Plibersek

NOES, 72

Mr Abbott               Mr Entsch                 Ms Ley                    Mr Wyatt Roy
Mr Alexander        Mr Fletcher              Mr McCormack   Mr Ruddock
Mr K. J. Andrews  Mr Forrest               Mr Macfarlane     Mr Schultz
Mrs K. L. Andrews Mr Frydenberg     Ms Marino             Mr Scott
Mr Baldwin                Ms Gambaro          Mrs Markus          Mr Secker*
Mr Billson                   Mrs Gash                Mr Matheson        Mr Simpkins
Mrs B. K. Bishop      Mrs Griggs              Mrs Mirabella      Mr Slipper
Ms J. I. Bishop         Mr Haase           Mr Morrison      Mr A. D. H. Smith
Mr Briggs                  Mr Hartsuyker     Mrs Moylan            Mr Somlyay
Mr Broadbent         Mr A. G. Hawke    Mr Neville              Dr Southcott
Mr Buchholz            Mr Hockey             Mr O’Dowd            Dr Stone
Mr Chester               Mr Hunt                  Ms O’Dwyer           Mr Tehan
Mr Christensen      Mr Irons                Mrs Prentice           Mr Truss
Mr Ciobo                  Dr Jensen              Mr Pyne                     Mr Tudge
Mr Cobb                   Mr E. T. Jones      Mr Ramsey              Mr Turnbull
Mr Coulton*           Mr Keenan            Mr Randall              Mr van Manen
Mr Crook                  Mr C. Kelly            Mr Robb                     Mr Vasta
Mr Dutton                Mr Laming            Mr Robert                Mr Wyatt

* Tellers

Mr C. R. Thomson Dr Washer
And so it was resolved in the affirmative—bill read a second time.
[Div No. 176], 5:28:32 PM to 5:36:53 PM, Ayes 75, Noes 72

And now when Sophie got named.

Member named and suspended
The Deputy Speaker, 10:15:13 PM, named the Member for Indi (Mrs Mirabella) for continuing to interject after having been warned by the Chair.
Mr Combet, 10:15:30 PM, moved—That the Member for Indi be suspended from the service of the House.
The House divided (the Deputy Speaker, Mr Slipper, in the Chair)—
AYES, 71

Mr Adams        Mr Dreyfus                     Dr M. J. Kelly    Ms Plibersek
Mr Albanese    Mrs Elliot                       Ms King               Mr Ripoll
Ms Bird              Ms Ellis                            Dr Leigh              Ms Rishworth
Mr Bowen          Dr Emerson                  Ms Livermore   Ms Rowland
Mr Bradbury    Mr L. D. T. Ferguson Mr Lyons            Ms Roxon
Ms Brodtmann Mr M. J. Ferguson    Mr McClelland  Mr Rudd
Ms A. E. Burke  Mr Fitzgibbon            Ms Macklin         Ms Saffin
Mr A. S. Burke  Mr Garrett                   Mr Marles            Mr Shorten
Mr Butler            Mr Georganas            Mr Melham         Mr Sidebottom
Mr Byrne            Mr Gibbons                 Mr Mitchell         Mr S. F. Smith
Mr Champion    Ms Gillard                   Mr Murphy          Ms Smyth
Mr Cheeseman Mr Gray                       Mr Neumann       Mr Snowdon
Mr Clare              Ms Grierson               Mr Oakeshott      Mr Symon
Ms Collins           Mr Griffin                    Mr O’Connor    Mr K. J.Thomson
Mr Combet         Ms Hall*                      Ms O’Neill           Ms Vamvakinou
Mr Crean             Mr Hayes                    Ms Owens            Mr Wilkie
Mr Danby            Mr Husic*                  Ms Parke               Mr Zappia
Mrs D’Ath            Mr S. P. Jones           Mr Perrett

NOES, 57

Mr Abbott              Mr Coulton*         Mr McCormack     Mr Wyatt Roy
Mr Alexander       Mr Entsch              Mr Macfarlane      Mr Schultz
Mr K. J. Andrews Mr Frydenberg   Ms Marino              Mr Secker*
Mrs K. L. Andrews Mrs Griggs         Mrs Markus            Mr Simpkins
Mr Baldwin               Mr Haase             Mr Matheson    Mr A. D. H. Smith
Mr Billson               Mr Hartsuyker    Mrs Mirabella   Dr Southcott
Mrs B. K. Bishop   Mr A. G. Hawke  Mr Morrison     Mr Tehan
Ms J. I. Bishop     Mr Hunt                 Mr Neville           Mr Truss
Mr Briggs              Mr Irons                 Mr O’Dowd          Mr Tudge
Mr Broadbent     Dr Jensen           Ms O’Dwyer            Mr Turnbull
Mr Buchholz        Mr E. T. Jones  Mrs Prentice         Mr van Manen
Mr Chester            Mr Keenan        Mr Pyne                 Mr Wyatt
Mr Christensen   Mr C. Kelly       Mr Ramsey

Mr Ciobo               Mr Laming         Mr Robb

Mr Cobb               Ms Ley                   Mr Robert

* Tellers

Mr C. R. Thomson Dr Washer
And so it was resolved in the affirmative. [Div No. 177], 10:15:45 PM to 10:27:45 PM, Ayes 71, Noes 57
The Member was, therefore, suspended at 10.28 p.m. for 24 hours under standing order 94, and she accordingly left the Chamber.

Lovely to see that Slipper did not vote with the coalition re Sophie, but he was speaker I guess.

I see the following absent: Dutton, Fletcher Forest, Gambaro, Gash, Moylan, Ruddock, Scoll, Somlyay, Stone, and Vasta.

*MISSED ONE!* Hockey (hello sloppy!)

Be interesting to see Warren Entsch’s take on the vote. If he says its not important, then it makes the one shaming Malcolm Turnbull as pre-designed to shame him. If he takes no action then the same again.

The coalition have given the government a free kick in a week when they wanted to appear as cohesive as possible.

 Cant wait to hear the coalition try to spin their way out of this. 

A. Ghebranious   2011  (All Tights Deserved)

  1. Catching up permalink

    Does that mean she misses the vote tomorrow. Pity the government could not bring on the Asylum seekers vote.

  2. Jennifer Baratta permalink

    Oh dear that censur seems worse then American Congress OH well thanks Ash

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: