Skip to content

Assume the position

13/09/2011

So there is to be a media inquiry. You can imagine what Tony Abbott would think of that. But I think its good to have a look at what it looks like in another country.

Australia to hold media inquiry

Australia will hold an independent inquiry into the media after growing criticism of reporting in newspapers run by Rupert Murdoch’s company News Limited.

While the terms of reference for the inquiry are yet to be released, it is understood it will focus on privacy and strengthening the power of media watchdogs.

But the Greens Party, which has been calling for an inquiry into the country’s media since the News of the World scandal erupted in Britain, also wants the inquiry to consider revising media ownership laws.

News Limited currently controls 70 per cent of the newspapers in Murdoch’s native country, including the nation’s only national newspaper. The Greens, who have accused the company of bias, want the laws changed to water down his stranglehold on the press.

However, the government insisted that the inquiry was not out to “get News Ltd”.

“This is not about attacking any one media company,” one government source said.

Source: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/australiaandthepacific/australia/8759338/Australia-to-hold-media-inquiry.html

I can hear the coalition and news limited journalists. Tony thinks it is a naked attempt to intimidate the media. Oh really Mr Abbott?

Here are some excerpts from a little blog piece I came across today. I urge you to read it all. Shocking story about how an innocent person was taken off the plane with two others because someone said they looked suspicious.

http://shebshi.wordpress.com/2011/09/12/some-real-shock-and-awe-racially-profiled-and-cuffed-in-detroit/

Eventually a female uniformed officer came in. She looked like a fat Jada Pinkett Smith, and in a kind but firm voice explained what was going to happen. I was to stand, face the wall in a position so the camera above the toilet couldn’t see, and take off my clothes. I complied. She commented on my tattoo, saying, “Oh you have one of those things–good and evil, right?”

“Yin and yang. Balance,” I said, grabbing my clothes to redress.

“You understand why we have to do this, right? It’s for our own protection,” she told me.

Because I am so violent. And pulling me off an airplane, handcuffing me and patting me down against a squad car didn’t offer enough protection. They also needed to make sure all my orifices were free and clear.

She apologized for having to do the strip search, and I asked her to tell me what was going on. She said she didn’t know but someone would come and talk to me. She put my handcuffs back on and left. The other officer stood guard outside. I told him I needed to call my husband. He said I could use the phone later.

…..

Another officer drove me to my car in the airport parking lot. As he plopped into the drivers seat and me into the passenger’s seat of the unmarked sedan, he apologized for not having air conditioning, but being a descendant of desert people I obviously didn’t mind the heat. He asked me if I was OK to drive back to my home in Ohio, and I said I was, though I wasn’t sure I was. I wasn’t sure how this would affect me. I am still not sure.

9/11 certainly changed the way we look at each other. It also, under the urging of pieces in the media, has lead to someone thinking it is a good idea to pick me out of a line because I have a different coloured skin and look Arabic so they can stick a finger up my arse to see if there are any explosives there.

We bare this inquiry. You insist we must. You ask us what do we have to hide. We don’t like your tone or your argument, but if it makes you feel safer, we drop out pants and let you take a peek.

Guess what media. Now it’s your turn. Sorry Mr Abbott. But your friend Rupert needs to assume the position. Your turn next.

A. Ghebranious 2011 (All Rights Reserved)

3 Comments
  1. Anon permalink

    Keep up the good work, Ash.

  2. Anon y mous permalink

    I hope it turns out like the grocery inquiry – if it does it will be that Fairfax is charging too much for its paywall on the afr.

  3. Jennifer Baratta permalink

    Keep it up! Thanks and yet another reason for me not to fly.

Leave a comment