Skip to content

I wasn’t born like that.

21/06/2011

I have just watched the first of the brilliant series ‘Go Back To Where You Came From’ on SBS here in Australia. You can watch the show online as well as check out the fantastic website here.

http://www.sbs.com.au/shows/goback

The show is overwhelming, compelling, frustrating, heartbreaking, and confronting.

Australia is going through a debate. It is one that has many unhealed wounds and scars.

The brilliant aspect of the show is it is what it is. An experiment. But not just for the participants but for us too. Through the eyes of 6 selected peoples lie the heavy weight of 22 million. We relate to all or can do so. But like us, they are complex beings.

It is hard to watch and easy to judge as many will no doubt. I urge you to watch the show.

One character, Raquel, is heard saying something and I used it to title this blog. In the scene it seems Raquel is struggling with the premise of the show. I thought I heard her say

‘I wasn’t born like that. I’m not a refugee. I was born in Australia’

Well touch wood there Raquel.

I would like to say that no one is born a refugee, but that is not true. Children have been born in refugee camps as their parents wait for years to be placed.

Time to fix this.

A. Ghebranious  2011    (All Rights Reserved)

One Comment
  1. Jennifer Baratta permalink

    Agreed. Well said

Leave a Reply

